POWER Win Wild One Over Waves

Box Score

PALM SPRINGS, CA — The POWER made it two wild walk-off wins in a row on Wednesday as Ryan Jones hit his sixth home run of the year to propel Palm Springs past the San Diego Waves, 8-6.

Tyler Truitt also had a good night at the dish going 3-for-4, including an RBI single with 2 outs in the bottom of the ninth to tie the game and set the stage for Jones.

Doug Finley pitched three scoreless innings in relief and struck out six batters en route to his second win of the season.

Palm Springs grabbed the lead first with two runs in the third, as a double steal and sacrifice fly off the bat of Reagan Fowler led to two runs.

The Waves would tie the game in the next inning, as POWER starter Kyle Crawford allowed the first four batters to reach safely before striking out the side to escape the jam.

The POWER would recapture the lead in the fifth as Truitt and Jones hit back-to-back RBI base hits.

San Diego got to the Palm Springs bullpen in the seventh inning, as they sent eight men to the plate and scored four runs to take a 6-5 lead.

This is the first victory of the year for the POWER after trailing heading into the ninth. The POWER have now won six straight overall and six straight over the Waves dating back to 2008.

The POWER have an off day tomorrow before returning to the field on Friday against the Inland Empire Rockets. Gates open at 6 pm with the first pitch scheduled for 7:05 pm.