POWER drop Game One to Force, 5-3

POWER drop Game One to Force, 5-3

EL CAJON, Calif. – The POWER took to the road on Friday afternoon to take on the San Diego Force in game one of the 2016 SCCBL Championship Series. They put up a valiant effort to try and come back from two-run deficits throughout the game, but it was the Force who would be victorious in this one with a final score of 5-3.

John Mauldin would get things going for the POWER with an RBI double in the third inning, driving in Colby Schultz. That would be all the POWER could muster until the eighth, as San Diego Force pitcher Jason Yano retired 14 straight POWER hitters and did not allow a base runner since Willie Bourbon walked following Mauldin’s double.

The Force went yard a couple of times tonight, with Nick Zaharion blasting a solo shot in the first off of Josh Tedeschi and Devin Carter knocking in two with his homer in the fifth.

Brock Hale wouldn’t let the POWER go down without a fight, hitting a moonshot to left field to bring his team back to within two runs. His home run was the first hit since the third inning, but it wouldn’t be enough as William Chen-Hu would settle in and retire the side following Hale’s home run.

TJ Looney would earn the save for the Force, but it wouldn’t come easy as David Posas and Dylan Yankle reached to apply some pressure late. Looney would get Andrew Brown to strike out to end the game and take game one in this three-game championship series, 5-3.

Game two will be tomorrow night back at Palm Springs Stadium with the usual 7:05 PM start time. Starting pitchers have yet to be announced.

POWER Schedule Tickets